Olympics in London

27 Jul

Wow! … So I’m chilling’ out at Jocelyn Brown’s house in London, when the Olympics come on. As the teams representing each nation file out, everyone awaits the advent of the host country,Great Britain. The United States team got a fine reception and then, after a few more teams…finally the moment everyone has been waiting for…the entrance of the team from Great Britain…when suddenly what do I hear?…me. Yes, me. My signature guitar line on David Bowie’s “We Can Be Heroes”. My wife turns to me with that warm look of satisfaction, from long years of support and guidance. And my daughter smiles the proud look of any offspring in the light of her fathers accomplishments. Jocelyn looks at me and asks ” is that your guitar I’m listening to”? All I can do is smile and say ” Yep”.

Wow…

 

here’s a video clip of the moment

 

3 Responses to “Olympics in London”

  1. Len Epand July 27, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Len Epand on July 27, 2012 at 10:14 pm
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    Hey Carlos. That is one of those great moments when you realize the hard work talent and artistry has paid off and your music is embedded in history and culture for all time for the world to enjoy. Meanwhile my wife and daughter and I are sitting in our connecticut kitchen watching the olympic ceremony- the teams are marching in but we’re just up to Italy. Can’t wait to hear you from across the pond.

    Reply ↓

  2. Len Epand July 27, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Hey Carlos. That is one of those great moments when you realize the hard work talent and artistry has paid off and your music is embedded in history and culture for all time for the world to enjoy. Meanwhile my wife and daughter and I are sitting in our connecticut kitchen watching the olympic ceremony- they teams are marching in but we’re just up to Italy. Can’t wait to hear you from across the pond.

    • Alex Morison July 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Hi Carlos, That moment when ‘Heroes’ played while team GB walked in to the Olympic stadium was simply incredible. That song is a classic and thoroughly deserved it’s place in all of that, You, David and all the band who played it must be very proud. Wonderful stuff!

Leave a Reply

