Loving The Alien

14 Jan

“Come on! … Come on, you guys”! Yet another day of nagging, I thought to myself. Is this what had become of me?

“Come on!  This is getting ridiculous …the food is getting cold already … by the time you eat it, it’ll…my voice trailed off. “All right then” as I was getting ready to go into a tirade of unutterable words, the phone rang.

“Hi Carlos, I have David on the other line. Can you hold on?” It was Eileen from David Bowie’s Office. It was great to hear Eileen’s voice.

  “Sure” I said, as I licked my now, dry lips with my tongue. Was my mouth dry because of the nervousness or was it that I had wasted all my salivary fluids, drooling over the lost meal I was missing out on?

“Here’s David” she said and then, there was silence.

“Carlos?” came the voice on the other end of the phone.

“David?” I replied. Then we both started laughing. That exchange was always funny, no matter how many times we did it, but it was always totally enjoyable. “Is that really you?” I questioned

“Yea mate. How ya been?”

“Hey man! Pretty good” I replied as I waited to see what could have David Bowie, calling me after 6 years. God! Had it really been that long? I pondered on how long. About as long as it took my family to come to the table to eat, I thought, as they finally sat themselves down and started to complain about their cold food.

“What was this once? Dad, Huh?”  My budding daughter Lea Lorien asked in her snide voice. “Stop that, and eat your food,” retorted my wife Robin. “Can’t you see your father’s on the phone.”

“Thank you Robin,” I said, cupping the phone.

  “So what’s up?” I asked, getting back to David. “How’s married life treating you?

“Oh Man! Its Great” he replied. And then we talked. About this and that, who and when, where and how and then, he suddenly interjected.

“5:30”

“What?” I replied,

“5:30…Can you be in the studio at 5:30?”

“Sure, I guess” I continued “but, what’s happening? I questioned.

“Well,” he began  “I’m in the studio… Brian is here”. As he started talking, you could tell he was really getting excited. It seems he and Brian Eno were at it again, recording a new album and I guess David wanted to get that old “Trilogy” feeling again. It was a welcome thought considering the fact that David had spent so many Years with “Tin Machine” (another pseudonym for David Bowie).

I guess David had gotten discouraged. He must have finally realized, that a group effort means a total group effort. Good times and bad, thick and thin, money or no money. 

Yea, Sure!  As far as “Times” were concerned… The few British clippings I could get my hands on confirmed that they were progressively becoming bad times, the creative stream, it seems had long since thinned out, and the “monies” spent, were usually his.

Anyway, he wanted me to come to the Hit Factory in N.Y.C to record his new album.

Glancing over at Robin while I listened, I could see her lips forming the usual phone question, “Who is it?”

“David” I Shot back, in dumb tongue.

“David?” she questioned, with that look of David Who? “Bowie, David Bowie” I shot back in spoken tongue hoping to quiet her. But she wouldn’t have it. Up she got, and over to the phone she came. Standing next to me, in order to listen, she pressed herself close and lent an ear.

“Onions!”

“Onions?” she questioned.

“Yea, Onions.” I replied. With visions of Buckwheat and Darla from the “Little Rascals” dancing in my head, I placed some distance between my lovely, but odoriferous wife and refocused on the phone conversation.

“Yeah man! … Aha…well, look …yeah…whatever you need…you know I’ll be there … and David …Thanks for the phone call … O.K.  I’ll see you then…”and just like that, it was over.

Turning back to Robin I could tell I’d have to start from the beginning and tell her everything, which I did.

After I  finished, she looked at me with that I’m-your-wife-and-I-told-you-he’d-call-look and said. “I guess he wants to be David Bowie again”. So much for Tin Machine. 

Not one to go one-on-one with an old I-told-you-so-pro, like my wife, I could only look at her and say “I guess your right.”

Chapter 1

(THE ALBUM)… to be continued…

30 Responses to “Loving The Alien”

  1. Simone February 25, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

    Wonderful! When are you going to continue!?

  2. marik January 18, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

    thanks for sharing (:

  3. Matt January 15, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Hi Carlos!
    I love reading your memories and insights on the past in regards to making wonderful art and music with so many great performers.
    David Bowie was my introduction to your spectacular guitar playing. You made me a fan of the phase pedal ! I can’t say enough how much I have enjoyed listening to you and Dennis Davis and George Murray holding it down creating a massive bedrock on the Station to Station thru Scary Monsters albums. I wish I could have been in the studio when y’all laid down those tracks.

    I know this is a real tough time for you and your family. My condolences to you and your’s.
    Much love

    • guitarlos1 January 16, 2016 at 2:31 am #

      Thank you for your sentiments Max

  4. Paul Chaddock January 15, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

    Oh boy, oh boy… This is going to be sooo interesting for all of us. I feel this is just the begining of Mr. Alomar’s stories. I bet he has one thousand of those… He was on the radio this week in Montreal and was a smash hit with me (and many others, I’m sure). Sir, please keep on writing those great stories. You’ve been around and around, with so many legends… and have became a legend on your own, for what you brought to their respective tables. All the best !

    • guitarlos1 January 16, 2016 at 2:32 am #

      I am humbled, thx 4 your kind words

      • Paul Chaddock January 16, 2016 at 10:59 pm #

        Please Sir, no, thank you ! You are one super inspiration.

  5. Harlow Gold January 15, 2016 at 9:50 am #

    Keep writing Carlos, I can’t wait to read the next chapter. Yup, he was ready to be David Bowie again! I will always remember you smiling at me and others in the crowd when you were onstage with Bowie here in Denver for the Outside tour. Special moment. Great stuff!

  6. ecsongbysong January 15, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    Can’t wait to see where this goes, sir. I adore the “Outside” record, and will relish getting some insight into where it came from. Keep at it!

  7. Jean-François Bouvard January 15, 2016 at 3:41 am #

    I like the small stories like this one, part of the great stories. To be continued, yes please

  8. Moises Marcon January 15, 2016 at 12:03 am #

    Thanks for opening about your precious memories with the extravagant and genius David Bowie. Writing about your experiences on something you love is a great exercise for the spirit. I can attest to this. Really enjoyed the way in which you express, how it rolls on, never dragging. The inclusion of your family was seamless and… familiar! Really keen to the underlying truth of a family man. Again, thanks for letting us in on something as special as your artistic collaboration with the iconic David Bowie (may his soul rest in peace).

  9. Federico January 14, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    Hi Carlos. I know this blog since a while ago, find it really interesting, and it’s great to learn more about your years with Bowie. This “Loving the Alien” is a pretty cool entry, and definitely a good read. More stories soon, please. Take care man.

  10. Thor Fields January 14, 2016 at 10:50 pm #

    Thank you so much, Carlos, for “letting us in” behind the scenes, allowing us a glimpse of some of the more “human” and “down-to-earth” moments that we fans don’t usually get to see. You and Bowie will always be our heroes!

  11. sarah mc ewen January 14, 2016 at 10:29 pm #

    “Loving The Alien ” truly a Remarkeable Epic Bowie tune and Video Sarah Mc ewen

  12. Lynnie Hoffman January 14, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    Oh Carlos…this is wonderful!!! You definitely have a gift for writing! Just now I’m wondering if you’ve ever written short stories, fiction.. non fiction before? If the musician thing doesn’t work out I think you have other options! Thank you …I can’t wait to read more…it’s already my favorite! I mean it…thank you for taking me back to an earlier happier time….
    …my heart goes out to you, Robin and Lea…thank you so much for being apart of David’s life and loving our favorite Alien as much as we do, Lynnie.

    • guitarlos1 January 14, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      Awww thanks Lynnie, your generosity of spirit is contagious and has me gleaming.

  13. robert dansby January 14, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    this is really wonderful to read – I doubt any musician or collaborator worked with him was so simpatico. Write that book Carlos! I’ll buy it!!! Best to you and your family this sad week.

  14. Peter Crane January 14, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

    Great story Carlos;) Oddly I was listening to Tonight, last night. I love the intro on Alien !

  15. Rob Pongi January 14, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

    Oh that is great Carlos! And very funny too! 😀 Thank you very much. Looking forward to reading more.

  16. Albert Persons January 14, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    Very excited to read more, Carlos. Very well written. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Jeff Elbel January 14, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

    Carlos, it’s going to be a blast to read about these adventures, your memories. I’ve been writing about David all week, from a fan’s/journalist’s distance. Many others have done the same, and it has been good for the soul. Many souls. Your stories, however, are going to be so special. Can’t wait for more!

    • guitarlos1 January 14, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

      thanks Jeff, it’s therapeutic.

  18. A-M January 14, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

    This is great. Thanks for sharing. By the way I have always loved your eye wear. The flip ups you wore on the Glass Spider Tour inspired my choice of glasses back then.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Loving The Alien | Crawfordgold's Blog - January 15, 2016

    […] Source: Loving The Alien […]

Leave a Reply

